Your browser does not support javascript. Please enable javascript.

Local Time

168 days to go

Fri 11 to Sun 20 August 2017

Ekka Dates & Public Holiday

Ekka Dates & Public Holiday

Ekka Dates

Ekka is one of the most beloved annual events in the Brisbane calendar, and will continue to be long into the future.

Below are the Ekka dates and People's Day, the official Royal Queensland Show public holidays for 2017 to 2019. 

2017 11 - 20 16
2018 10 - 19 15
2019 9 - 18 14

2017 Show Public Holidays

Brisbane City - 16 August 2017

The 2017 official Royal Queensland Show public holiday, also known as the People's Day, will fall on 16 August in Brisbane.

Queensland Regional Areas - 14 August 2017

Ekka is a celebration of Queensland life, so it's important Queensland has time to celebrate Ekka. Many regional areas recognise the Show holiday on a different date (14 August 2017) to Brisbane residents.

  • Bundaberg Region - within the postcode of 4671
  • City of Redland
  • Goondiwindi Region - for that area covered by the former Shire of Inglewood within the boundaries of the parishes of Wyemo, Beebo, Texas, Silverspur, Arcot, Gunyan, Bonshaw, Maiden Head, Aitkin's Flat & the town of Texas
  • Gympie Region - Goomeri Township, Parish of Goomeribong
  • Lockyer Valley Region
  • Logan City
  • Moreton Bay Region
  • North Burnett Region - Biggenden, Eidsvold, Gayndah, Mount Perry and Monto Areas
  • Scenic Rim Region
  • Shire of Balonne – that part outside of the post code of 4486
  • Shire of Cherbourg
  • Somerset Region
  • South Burnett Region
  • Toowoomba Region - that part of the Toowoomba Regional Council area covered by Yarraman, Upper Yarraman & Cooyar
  • Western Downs Region - Tara

Visit the Queensland Government website for all show holiday dates